Page images
PDF
EPUB

the war.

[ocr errors]

Governor Tryon, in a letter to Lord George Germaine, of date New York, 31 Dec., 1776, alludes to the return of the prisoners. “Last Sunday evening Mr. Wallace and Mr. Jauncey, two of his Majesty's Council of this Province, with several other Inhabitants thereof, came to town from Connecticut, having been discharged by Gov. Trumbull from their confinement upon the express obligation of not taking up arms against America, and to return to captivity if required.” The brothers Wallace remained in New York during

The newspapers of 1782 and 1783 contain a standing advertisement that “Hugh and ALEXANDER WalLace have for sale, on reasonable terms, a Quantity of good sweet Flour, old Lisbon Wine, a large quantity of Queensware in Crates, Glass and China in Boxes, Cannon, 4, 6 and 9 pounders, Shot, Swivel guns of newest construction.” They were also constantly favored by the military authorities, and were agents of the Government for the payment of prize-money to the British men of war.

On May 5, 1783, they give notice in Gaine's N. Y. Gazette and Mercury that they will pay the prize-money for the captures of His Majesty's Ship Cyclops.

The property of Hugh WALLACE was confiscated by the Provincial Legislature on the 22d October, 1779. The confiscated Estates were sold under a further act of the State Legislature of 12 May, 1784.

Hugh WALLACE did not remain to witness the new order of things, but left with the army in 1783. He returned to Great Britain, and died at Waterford in Ireland in the year 1788. No portrait of Mr. Wallace is known to exist in this country.

[ocr errors][merged small]

THIRD PRESIDENT OF THE NEW YORK CHAMBER OF COMMERCE.

1771-177 2.

A

T what period the family of Desbrosses came to

the New York Colony is now unknown. They

have been called of Huguenot extraction—a view to which their warm attachment to the Protestant faith gives color; but this name is not found in the Colonial records at the time when the chief part of this emigration reached the New World. The town of New Rochelle, in Westchester County, was settled as early as 1681 by French refugees, who had fled to England to avoid the persecutions which preceded the revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685. The name of DESBROSSES does not appear on the lists of freeholders of the new settlement of 1708 or 1724.

The name is first met with in an advertisement in William Bradford's “New York Gazette,” September 12th to 19th, 1737, giving notice of “ Choice Good Canary Wine to be sold at Three Shillings and six pence per Gallon by the five Gallons at the Widow Desbrosses, in Hanover Square.”

Elias Desbrosses was born (probably in this city) in the year 1718. The family appears, in 1737, to have consisted of the widow, her sons Elias and James (and perhaps Stephen, whose name appears later), and her daughters Magdalen and Elizabeth.

He first comes into notice in the famous report, by Horsmanden, of the Negro Plot of 1741. It was the belief of the time that the negroes were set on by Catholic priests. The shade of Guy Fawkes yet lurked near every burning house. His testimony before the Court on the 24th July, 1741, is thus given: “Elias Desbrosses, of New York, Confectioner; John Ury, the popish priest, now in jail, came with one Webb, a carpenter, to him, and asked if he (deponent) had any sugar bits or wafers, &c., (the bits are usually made as the deponent apprehends in imitation of Spanish silver coin.) This deponent showed the said Ury some confectionary in imitation of dogs, hawks, owls, lambs, and swans, supposing that he wished them to give away to please children, but told him he had no bits or wafers.” At this time Catholic worship was punished as a crime, and all magistrates were sworn to maintain the Protestant religion. This Ury was convicted, and executed on the 29th of the same month.

About this time James Desbrosses, a brother of Elias, first appears. One of his negroes, Primus, made confession concerning the Plot. He was to have stolen his master's gun and helped kill the white people. He resided at the “last house on the East River to Kip's Bay," described by David Grim as the house at which the line of Palisades of Cedar logs commenced, which was stretched across the island to the North River, in 1745, "for the security and protection of the inhabitants of the city, who were at that time much alarmed and afraid that the French and Indians were coming to invade the City.” This house was near the shipyards at the foot of Catharine Street. An advertisement in the " New York Journal,” April 2, 1767, shows that he was still residing there.

A part of the family, however, still occupied the house in Hanover Square in 1755. An advertisement in Gaine's “ New York Mercury,” of June 16th of that year, gives an approximation to its situation. It alludes to a house on Hanover Square wherein “Mr. Lewis Morris lived, next door to Mr. Walton's, and directly opposite to Mr. Grant's and Desbrosses.” Here Elias Desbrosses carried on a general business, trading with Madeira and the West India Islands. He was also part owner of the sloop Success, as his applications to Gov. Hardy for permits show.

His name now begins to appear quite often in advertisements of real estate. In Gaine's “Mercury,” of February 7th, 1757, he calls attention to a tract of land in New Jersey which he has for sale. He here signs himself Merchant.

James Desbrosses appears also to have been somewhat engaged in commerce. An advertisement of “A variety of Paper Hangings, imported from London,” to be sold by him, appeared in 1761. The name of still another of the family is recorded in an order issued by Governor Monckton, March 5th, 1763, to Capt. Lawrence, of Kings County, to deliver a certain negro boy, named Touissant, to Stephen Desbrosses, to be sent by him to Mr. Veyer, his former master at Martinico.

With these various enterprises Mr. Elias DESBROSSES continued to increase his property and influence, and to win the esteem of his neighbors. In 1767 he was chosen Alderman of the East Ward, which he continued to represent in the City Councils until 1770.

In 1768 he was one of the founders of the Chamber of Commerce, and its first Treasurer—an office which he held until 1770, when he was chosen Vice-President, and the next year President, of this Corporation.

Mr. Desbrosses does not seem to have had any desire for public life. He was one of the Committee of Correspondence of fifty-one, chosen by the citizens in May, 1774, but the minutes only show him in his seat at the first meeting. He took no part in the stirring and angry scenes which followed. He was too little of a partisan to meet any annoyance from either side, and passed untroubled through the occupation of both armies. He showed his strong sympathy with the English side by signing the very loyal address of Lord Howe, in October, 1776, and though not claimed by Sabine as a loyalist in his comprehensive collection of sketches, he must be classed in this body.

In May of the following year, when the British authorities undertook to raise troops for the King's service in New York, Mr. DESBROSSES, whose residence is given as in Queen Street, was one of a Committee, together with Henry White, Nathaniel Marston, and Thomas White, “appointed to receive donations which will be applied for the Comfort and Encouragement of such of his Majesty's faithful Subjects as already have or hereafter shall enter into the Provincial Regiments raising in this Province.”

In December, 1777, he was named first on the Vestry appointed by General Robertson for the Relief of the Poor of the City. With him were many of his old commercial associates-Miles Sherbrooke, Isaac Low, Charles Nicoll, Gabriel H. Ludlow, and others.

He seems to have taken no further active part in business, and when the meetings of the Chamber were renewed by such of the members as adhered to the Crown, he did not resume his connection with it.

MR. Desbrosses was a very religious man, and forward in every charitable enterprise. The family were among the early and liberal contributors to the Huguenot church, L'Eglise du St. Esprit, erected in Pine Street, and James

« PreviousContinue »